Model-View-ModelController – My take on MVVM – Introduction

I’ve seen a lot of examples from guys like Josh Smith and Karl Shifflett on best practices for using MVVM (Model-View-ViewModel). These are really great examples, but I have yet to find anyone doing real-world development in WPF on a LOB (line of business) application applying these principles.

I’m currently in development on a very large application and I will be writing a series of articles on the structure in which it is built including what I am calling Model-View-ModelController; a cross between MVVM and MVC. They obviously won’t entail any of the business specifics, but I want to demonstrate some of the patterns I am using to both give ideas to anyone struggling with the same issues I have and to also learn more through feedback from the community. Any and all feedback will be much appreciated.

The technologies I will be focusing on are WPF, and Linq-To-Sql. A few of the tenets I will be focusing on are

  • Views Instantiate the ModelControllers, and other Views
  • ModelControllers know NOTHING about the Views
  • ModelControllers instantiate Models and other ModelControllers
  • Models are simply DTO objects and have no knowledge of the existence of anything other than related Models

kick it on DotNetKicks.com

One Response to Model-View-ModelController – My take on MVVM – Introduction

  1. Michael says:

    It will be interesting to see your postings. However you should not overlook the incorporation of dependency injection as well. Thus the DI handles the instantiation of the Model which is injected into the View. Eliminates hard coding at the view level of any model instances. I found it very helpful when in the middle of the development it was obvious that two or thee views needed a single view model. DI made the switch very fast and easy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

